Video Calling


IN THIS ARTICLE

Introduction to secure video calling

Spruce allows you to connect with your patients via HIPAA-compliant video calls. Patients and clinicians can log on to Spruce on their mobile app or computer's browser to participate in the video calls. 

In order to engage in a video call, the patient must create an account with Spruce either through the mobile app or on a computer through the browser from the invite sent by the practice. To learn how to invite patients to download the app, please use these resources:

To ensure patients are prepared at the time of your video call, we recommend scheduling the visit with your patient in advance, then sending a message a few minutes prior to the appointment asking the patient to open the Spruce app or login on their computer. Please note, patients cannot initiate video calls but they can test their audio and video prior to the call. Providers must place the outbound video call to the patient. 


Placing a video call from the web

Open the patient's Secure Conversation, indicated by the Lock Icon next to the patient's name. Then select the Video Icon in the top right corner. The video call icon will only show up if the patient has downloaded the Spruce app and is in a Secure conversation. Here is a video demonstration.


Placing a video call from the mobile app

Open the patient's Secure Conversation, indicated by the Lock Icon next to the patient's name. Then select the Video Icon in the top right corner.


Troubleshooting

We are not getting notified of messages or calls:

Please confirm with the patients that they have notifications enabled for the app on their phone. The patient needs to make sure that notifications are enabled within the Spruce app and their phone settings. Attached are two screenshots that reflect the proper notification settings. For issues with Android notifications, please message our Spruce Support team in-app.

Video is not working on my browser
For best quality, we recommend using Google Chrome as your browser. Please enable access to your camera and microphone by selecting the ‘lock’ icon to the left of the URL and toggling ‘Allow’. 

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us