Contact Filters on Spruce help providers organize a HIPAA-compliant professional contact list inside the Spruce app, separate from a personal phone contact list. New contacts are created automatically when someone calls or texts a Spruce number, when a provider adds them manually, or when a person signs up through a Spruce Link. Default filters include All, Patients, Patients Invited, Patients with app, and Unsaved Contacts. Providers can create custom contact filters (including filters built around contact tags) and share them with teammates; Spruce Administrators (admins) can edit teammates' filters.
IN THIS ARTICLE
- Default Contact Filters
- Custom Contact Filters
- For Administrators: Editing Teammates' Filters
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Contact Filters are available on all Spruce plans.
- Administrators can manage Contact Filters for teammates. All teammates can create their own Contact Filters.
Default Contact Filters
All
This filter contains all contacts that have been saved as a patient, professional, or clinic. The list of contacts will appear in alphabetical order.
Patients
When you create a new contact on Spruce, there are two designations: Patient and Professional. A professional contact might include another clinician or a pharmacy. The Patients filter will show all contacts that were saved as a Patient contact, as opposed to a professional contact.
Patients Invited
This filter will capture all patient contacts that have been invited to create secure Spruce accounts, but who haven't yet accepted their invitations. This is a good filter to monitor to better understand how many patients you may need to follow up with.
Patients with app
This filter will capture all patient contacts that have secure patient accounts with Spruce.
Unsaved Contacts
This filter will capture demographic information: phone numbers or emails that have not been formally saved as contacts. For example, a prospective client may have found your number on your website, and called you––this would have created an unsaved contact for them in Spruce associated with their phone number. You can edit an unsaved contact and designate whether this is a patient or professional contact and add the name of the person, then select Save. You can also have your custom contact filters include or exclude unsaved contacts.
Custom Contact Filters
In addition to the default contact filters provided, you also have the option to create custom Contact Filters. Contact Filters will be most useful if you utilize Contact Tagging, because you can create a list that captures all Contacts with a given tag. For example, if you are one of multiple providers on your Spruce account and you each tag your own patients with your name, you could create a contact filter that will show you all patients tagged with your name.
Creating Contact Filters
- On web, in the left-hand sidebar, select the + New Contact Filter option under "Contacts." On mobile, select Contacts in the bottom navigation, then select the arrow at the top next to the filter name you are viewing, then scroll to the bottom and select + New Filter.
- Name your filter, for example, "Patients on Spruce tagged with Diabetic."
- If you want to create a filter based on a tag, select the Add Tag Filter Rule button, then type the tag or tags into the "Search to select tags..." field. You can pick whether you want to show contacts tagged with Any of, All of, or None of the tags you enter. For example, add tag "Diabetic" and select "Any of" to capture Contacts with a "Diabetic" Contact Tag.
- Under "Contact Types" select which types of contacts you want included in the filter. By default, all will be selected. If you want this filter to ONLY list Patient Contacts, then deselect "Professional" and "Clinic."
- Under "Only Include Contacts With" you can select whether you want to only include contacts that have a phone number, fax number, and/or email address. By default, all will be deselected, meaning contacts don't need to have a phone number, fax number, or email saved to their contact in Spruce in order to show up in your filter.
- Under "Spruce Invitation Status" you can select whether you want to only include contacts that have a Spruce account, have been invite, and/or have not been invited. By default, all will be selected, meaning all contacts, regardless of invite status, will show up in your filter. If you want this filter to ONLY list Patient Contacts who have already created a secure Spruce account, then deselect "Invited but hasn't joined" and "Not invited."
- Under "Gender" you can select whether you want to only include patients with a specific gender. By default, all will be selected, meaning all contacts, regardless of gender, will show up in your filter. If you want this filter to ONLY list Patient Contacts with Female listed as their gender in Spruce, deselect the other options.
- Once you have made your selections, select the Create New Filter on web or Save on mobile. Your new filter will be added to your account only under the "Contacts" section. Learn more about sharing a filter.
Editing Existing Contact Filters
To edit an existing Contact Filter, select the three vertical dots icon next to the Contact Filter name, then select Edit Contact Filter on web or Edit on mobile. Make your edits to the existing Contact Filter, and select Save. Please note: you can only edit Contact Filters you created.
Deleting Existing Contact Filters
To delete a Contact Filter on the web, select the three vertical dots icon next to the Contact Filter name, then select Edit Contact Filter, then select the Delete button on the bottom left, then confirm you wish to delete the filter.
To delete a Contact Filter on mobile, select the three vertical dots icon next to the Contact Filter name, then select Delete, then confirm you wish to delete the filter.
Once deleted, the Contact Filter will no longer show up in your list of Contact Filters. Please note: you cannot remove default Contact Filters.
Sharing Existing Contact Filters with Spruce Teammates
You can share a Custom Contact Filter you created with a teammate so they don't have to manually recreate the filter in their own account.
- Select the three vertical dots icon next to the Contact Filter name.
- On the web, select Edit Contact Filter, then select the Copy Filter Link button on the top right.
- On mobile, select Copy Filter Link.
- Navigate to "Team Chat," and either open an existing conversation with the teammate(s) you want to share this with, or elect to create a new conversation with the teammate(s). Learn more about Team Chats.
- In the compose section of the Team Chat, click the link icon, then paste the link in. You can optionally add text to create a hyperlink. Alternatively, you can paste the link directly in the compose section. Use Command + V on a Mac, Control + V on a Windows computer, or press and hold on a mobile device.
- When your teammate selects the link, the filter you created will open for them, and they can elect to save it to their account.
For Administrators: Edit Teammates' Filters
Admins can now edit their teammates' filters. This can be useful when setting up a new teammate or helping someone organize their inbox more successfully. You must be an admin to do this. See more admin settings in this article here. Editing Teammates' filters can only be done using a desktop computer.
- Go to Settings > Teammates and select the teammate whose filters you want to make changes to.
- Click on "Contact Filters" under the Manage heading.
- At the top of the page, you will see an option to Copy from Another Teammate. This is helpful if you want this teammate to have the same setup as someone else on your team.
- You can also select the New Contact Filter option. This allows you to create a new filter using the same steps you see above, but the filter will appear for your teammate and not for yourself.
- You can also remove filters that are listed or drag them into a different order.
Frequently Asked Questions
How are new contacts created on Spruce?
A new contact is created when someone calls or texts your Spruce phone number, when a provider manually adds them, or when a person signs up through your Spruce Link.
What default contact filters does Spruce include?
All, Patients, Patients Invited, Patients with app, and Unsaved Contacts. Please note: you cannot remove default Contact Filters.
How do custom contact filters work alongside contact tags?
Custom Contact Filters can be built around contact tags, so a multi-provider practice can tag each provider's patients and create a per-provider filter; filters can also be shared with teammates, and Spruce Administrators (admins) can edit teammates' filters.