Bulk Messaging

IN THIS ARTICLE

Introduction to bulk messaging

Want to make an announcement to your patients without having to individually message each one? Use bulk messaging to send an identical message to up to 500 patients at once.

Unlike sending a single message, sending a bulk message will not cause each conversation to appear unread in the inbox. If the included conversations were previously in the archived state, they will remain archived even after the bulk message is sent. If the conversations were previously marked as read, they will remain marked as read after the bulk message is sent. 

Please note, bulk messaging can only be done from the web, not from the Spruce mobile app.


Sending a bulk message

1
Navigate to a view that displays the conversations that you wish to bulk message. This may be a filter (e.g., your inbox), or you may find the conversations by using the search bar.
2
Select the conversations you wish to message. To select only certain conversations, check the checkbox to the far right of each row. To select all conversations displayed on the page, select the checkbox at the top right of the page.
3
Select Actions, then from the drop-down menu select Send Message.
4
Compose your message, then select Send Message

If you wish to bulk message more than 500 conversations at one time, please consider this batch approach:

  1. Identify the conversations that you wish to bulk message, and apply a temporary unique tag to them (e.g., "bulk_message_20201205").
  2. Send the bulk message to the first 500 such conversations.
  3. Remove the tag from the conversations after they have been messaged.
  4. Repeat the batch sending and tag removal until no tagged conversations remain.

For further details on using conversation search, such as for building bulk messaging lists, please see our search article.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us