Mark conversations as unread to come back to them later. The blue dot next the conversation name indicates whether or not there you have unread messages in that conversation thread.
You can only mark a conversation as read or unread from the inbox. Marking a conversation as read or unread only affects the state of your inbox, not that of your teammates.
IN THIS ARTICLE
On Web
To Mark as Unread
On the web, select the icon to the left of each conversation you’d like to mark as unread, then press the “Actions” button and select “Mark as Unread” from the menu list.
To Mark as Read
To mark a conversation as read, select the icon to the left of each conversation you’d like to mark as read, then press the “Actions” button and select “Mark as Read” from the menu list.
On Mobile Phones
To Mark as Unread
On mobile phones, mark a conversation as unread by swiping right on the conversation.
To Mark as Read
On mobile phones, mark a conversation as read by swiping right on the conversation.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I mark a Spruce conversation as unread?
On mobile, long-press or right-click the conversation and select ‘Mark as Unread.’ It reappears with the unread indicator in your inbox. On web, select the icon to the left of each conversation you’d like to mark as unread, then press the “Actions” button and select “Mark as Unread” from the menu list.
Why would I mark a conversation as unread if I already read it?
It is a lightweight flag to remind yourself to follow up. Marking it unread keeps it visually prioritized without needing to create a task.
Does marking as unread notify my teammates?
No. Marking a conversation as unread is a personal visual flag that only affects your own inbox view.